By-Election Results for District 1

Congratulations to Ms. Joanne Pritchard-Sobhani for being elected as a member of Council. Her term begins on the next scheduled regular Council meeting and will expire in December 2020. We welcome Ms. Pritchard-Sobhani's return as a Council member and look forward to working with her again.

Election process

On July 19, 2019, the Registrar and CEO, sent out notices to the members calling a by-election for District 1, to be held on October 29, 2019. The elected member will serve for the remainder of the term for 2019-2020 on the Council of the College of Traditional Chinese Medicine Practitioners and Acupuncturists of Ontario.

Nomination information was sent electronically to the membership in District 1 with a deadline to submit nomination packages by August 20, 2019. Election and nomination information were available on the College website.

In accordance with the By-Laws, one member may be elected from District 1.


Results and Statistics for the 2019 By-Election for District 1 – North East

The Registrar and CEO received 2 nominations for the by-election for District 1. Voting was held electronically, and ballots were sent to 170 members.

Number of voting packages sent out 170
Total number of ballots 110 (64.71%)
Number of spoiled ballots 0
Total number of eligible ballots 110


Candidates Votes
Joanne Pritchard-Sobhani (Elected) 68 (61.82%)
Yuqiu Guo 42 (38.18%)